Musica Reginae Productions

Bach Meets The 21st Century

Internationally acclaimed marimbist and Forest Hills resident Makoto Nakura returns by popular demand to perform an evening of uplifting, sonorous tones all while wowing the audience with his signature lightning-fast dexterity and sensitive interpretations.

The Church-in-the-Gardens

50 Ascan Ave

Forest Hills, NY 11375


1 December


7:00 PM

Buy Tickets Buy Season Tickets Add to your Calendar (iCal)

Works include Leonard Bernstein’s Suite from West Side Story, David Schober’s The Pillow Book: Four Seasons of Ancient Japan for vibraphone, flute and spoken word, Philip Lasser’s Bach Echoes for marimba, and a touch of Bach meets the 21st Century as Makoto performs works of Bach he transcribed for marimba. Joined by artists Tara Helen O’Connor (flute), Chie Kitamura (narrator) and Barbara Podgurski (piano). You will certainly not want to miss this exciting display of musical pyrotechnics!

JS Bach (1685–1750) Three Preludes for solo marimba *
David Schober (b 1974) The Pillow Book: Four Seasons of Ancient Japan for vibraphone, flute, and spoken word (2013)
  • In Spring, it is the Dawn
  • In Summer, the Nights **
  • In Autumn, the Evenings
  • In Winter, the Early Mornings **
JS Bach Three Chorales for solo marimba *
  • Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein (“Ah lord, let your dear angels”), BWV 245-68
  • Christus, der uns selig macht (“Christ, who makes us blessed”), BWV 245-21
  • Befiehl du deine Wege (“Entrust your way”), BWV 244-53
Philip Lasser (b 1963) Bach Echoes for marimba (2017) *
Leonard Bernstein (1918–1990)/arranged by Raimundo Penaforte Suite from West Side Story ***
  • I Feel Pretty
  • Somewhere
  • America

* Work transcribed by Makoto Nakura.

** Work composed for Makoto Nakura.

*** Marimba part transcribed from the violin part by Makoto Nakura.